Desktops


Standard Desktops

eDocs Desktops

Saving Your Work

Desktop Actions

Timeouts Due to Inactivity


Standard Desktops

Desktops are available after you have logged in. The desktop provides a user with access to a virtual OCC computer. A user may have many virtual desktops available to them. These virtual desktops will appear as black and white icons and are located below the application folders.


To Launch a Mobile Desktop:

  1. Log in to Mobile.occ.gov.
  2. Click on a desktop you would like to use. A new window will open up and the virtual computer will boot up.
  3. It may take some time for your virtual computer to load. Your screen may remain black for several seconds before a Desktop Authority or Windows prompt begins to load.


  4. Use your virtual computer as you would your regular computer.
  5. Your user profile for Windows will be initialized the first time you launch a mobile desktop. This should only happen once.
  6. In addition, the first time you launch a desktop, the desktop may alert you about a microphone.
  7. Check the Do not ask me again box to disable the alert in the future.
  8. Click "No access".

Back to Top ^

eDocs Desktop

Mobile.occ.gov works with eDocs and gives users the option of working on an eDocs Desktop.

To Launch an eDocs Desktop

  1. Log in to Mobile.occ.gov.
  2. Click on the icon labeled "eDocs Desktop." A new window will open up and the virtual computer will boot up. NOTE: It may take some time for your virtual computer to load. Your screen may remain black for several seconds before a Desktop Authority or Windows prompt begins to load.

  3. If the window doesn’t load, check that your pop-up blocker enables pop-ups.

    After the eDocs Desktop has initialized, an eDocs icon on the virtual desktop can be used to open eDocs.


    If you are missing an eDocs desktop or can't load the eDocs desktop, call customer support at 1-800-788-7002.

    Back to Top ^



    Saving Your Work

    Saving work on your virtual desktop is similar to the way you save work on your regular computer.

    Best Practice: Save your work in your P: (personal) drive as it is accessible from any desktop.

    To save to your P: drive from Microsoft Word, select:

    1. File > Save As.
    2. Scroll down to the Personal Drive under "Computer".
    3. Select the P: Drive with the naming convention (Firstname.Lastname)(P:)

    • Avoid saving work to C: drive on the virtual machine, or to the Desktop and Documents folders.
    • Since you are working on a virtual machine, work is not saved to these areas on your physical OCC Computer.
    • Your network drive should be available to you automatically when you launch the virtual desktop.
    • If you are missing network drives or can't find any files you have saved, please call customer support at 1-800-788-7002 or create a ticket at Get IT Help.

    Back to Top ^



    Desktop Actions

    Locking Your Virtual Desktop

    To lock your virtual desktop:
    1. Click the "Ctrl+Alt+Del" symbol on the desktop’s menu bar.
    2. When the virtual desktop window is maximized, hover over the menu tab at the top of the screen. This will open up the full menu bar. From here, you can lock and unlock your computer using the same process.

    Back to Top ^



    Menu bar


    To unlock your virtual desktop:
    1. Click the "Ctrl+Alt+Del" symbol on the desktop’s menu bar.
    2. Log in as you usually would.

    Locking your physical machine will not lock your virtual machine, and vice versa.

    Back to Top ^

    Logging Off vs. Disconnecting From Your Virtual Desktop

    Logging off and disconnecting from a virtual desktop are different actions.

    Logging Off

    Logging off from your virtual desktop will end your desktop session. In the virtual machine, this action is the equivalent of shutting down.

    To Log off:

    1. Save all work to your network drives.
    2. Click the "Start" menu on your mobile desktop and select "Log Off" or the "Shut Down" button.




    Back to Top ^

    Disconnecting

    Disconnecting from a virtual desktop will close it, but keep your desktop content active for 30 minutes. If you reconnect to the virtual desktop within 30 minutes, you'll be able to continue working where you left off. After 30 minutes, the system will log you off and all your unsaved work will be lost.

    To Disconnect:

    Close the Citrix Desktop Viewer window.

    1. When the virtual desktop window is maximized, hover over the menu tab at the top of the screen.
    2. Select the x to disconnect, or click on "Disconnect."
    3. Alternatively, select Start > Shutdown > Disconnect.

    Back to Top ^

    Note: The first time you disconnect, the desktop will alert you of your actions. Check the "Don’t ask me again." box to disable the alert in the future.


    To Reconnect:

    Click the desktop icon to launch the virtual desktop from which you disconnected.

    Timeouts Due to Inactivity

    Timeouts

    The mobile web session can remain inactive for 30 minutes without any user activity on Mobile.occ.gov. The system will notify users 10 minutes before automatically logging users out of the session. Allowing a timeout of the session risks the loss of work in progress.



    Back to Top ^

Get IT Help

Get IT Help


Visit Get IT Help Online to submit a ticket, track ticket status, chat with an agent, and search the knowledge base.

1-800-788-7002


Suggestions

Suggest additional tips for this guide.